Awesome Theme: 8. Cheeky Angel

If someone were to ask me what I thought was an underrated anime. I would not say something like “Cross Game” or “Wolfs Rain” shows that clearly have a lot of  fans and people know about them. When I think underrated I think; Cheeky Angel. I  have almost never met anyone that has seen the anime for Cheeky Angel. Honestly it was only by chance that I even saw it. You see back in the early days of high school when I was just getting into anime with shows like “InuYasha” (What was I thinking?) and Gundam SEED. My friend, who had a friend that burned a lot of subtitled anime onto disc and would lend it to him. (I don’t even want to go into the crazy ways we used to trade shows. I hurts my mind to even think about it now.) One day he lent me two shows, Black Cat (which is pretty bad aside from some pretty cool looking parts, some of GONZO’s best work art wise) and Cheeky Angel or “Tenshi na Konamiki”. I blew through Black Cat in less then two days and loved it.(I had bad taste back in high school) After a bit of pushing for my friend saying the show was indeed awesome I decided to watch it, and oh my, it was Awesome!

Honestaly the first hand full of episodes are pretty boring with some stand out parts that do make you want to keep watching. But I would say the show does not hit its stride until about 11-13 episodes in so if you do check it out just think of it as a Sunrise robot show. I think this was the first anime that ever introduced the whole “manly man have to do manly things!” type of a spirit, and now I can’t get enough of that kinda story telling. This show is all about the characters and how they interact with each other. They can be kind of one note such as “nerdy pervert guy” or “Straight edge, honor bound guy” but they are still awesome. The humor is much like the style School Rumble has. You do not really need to care about the over all plot. Just go with the flow and enjoy the crazy things that happen. This series has one of my favourite climax’s in all of anime  the ending is perfect for the series.

Everyone that reads this and does not know about this series please, please go check it out! It needs more fans!

Leave a Reply

