Awesome theme: 9. Darker than Black.

Last night I saw The Dark Knight Rises. When I was thinking of what theme I was going to use for today I wanted to get something with an american comic book-ie type feel to it. As I am sure for a lot of people when you think “Batman, Anime” I thought; Darker than Black. Why is that thought? I got to thinking about it and the two properties really have very, very little in common. I mean they are both pretty dark properties with cool heroes that where mostly black and act diffident when they are in costume and not. . That is where the similarities really end. Hie, In terms of powers, well Hie actually has powers while Batman has none. Hie works for an organization while Batman just does it for Gotham. Biggest difference between them is that Hie kills (also sometimes uses guns) and Batman does not, will not kill. Am I saying that Darker than Black is bad because of this?  Of course not! I am just saying that the comparison between Hie and Batman is very very silly.

I really do love Darker than Black, I think it is one of the best looking shows of the past decade. I think it is one of the coolest show you can watch. Does that mean it is a good show? Um that is tough, I am of the came where Darker than Black is totally awesome if you don’t but energy into caring about the overall plot. Just watch all the awesome two praters and don’t worry, it will be okay. I don’t think it is Studio Bones’ best work (My personal favouirte anime studio) I mean the best things they have probably made are things like FullMetal Alchemist (and Brotherhood), Wolfs Rain, and Cowboy Beeboo: the movie. That said, I personally still think Darker than Black is one of their best and one of their most assailable to new fans. I mean you could show this show to someone who has never watched anime before in their life, maybe they are a comics fan or like action movies, they would probably get a kick out of this show.

I think this is kind of breaking the rules of “Awesome Themes” by way of not really having the best theme in the world. Sure, It is kind of cool but I would not really say it is totally awesome. But I think this is an anime that more people need to see, more and more people are getting into anime and just watching the very samey kind of harem/shonen romance type shows. If you like those kinds of things, that’s fine they just are so not for me, at all. I think Darker than Black represents how cool and sleek anime can be and it is important for people to try something new in their viewing every now and again. Remember kids, anime is a medium, the medium of animation, not a single genera. And Darker than Back is a very cool part of that medium so go check it out, it’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

